Sweet Potato Cupcakes. Seriously.

I love sweets   Seriously love them.  Cupcakes , caramels, chocolate, you name and I probably love it.  So when a craving hits and I have nothing on hand to satisfy it I head to my baking binder and start flipping.

Over the years I have collected many recipes from magazines, friends and family and therefore I have a lot that are not so mainstream.  This would be one of those.   In the spirit of being adventurous I thought I would give them a try and I am glad I did.  They were sweet, with a hint of nutmeg and cinnamon flour.  I enjoyed them (a lot) but I think they would be fantastic in the fall.  Super yummy comfort food.

Here’s the recipe:

1 cup coarsely chopped pecans

2 cups sugar

1 cup butter, softened

4 large eggs

2 cups mashed sweet potatoes

1/2 cup milk

1 teaspoon vanilla extract

3 cups all-purpose flour

1 teaspoon baking powder

1 teaspoon ground cinnamon

1/2 teaspoon baking soda

1/2 teaspoon ground nutmeg

1/4 teaspoon salt

1. Place pecans in a pan and bake at 350° for 5-7 minutes or until toasted.  Stir once or twice to prevent burning.

2. Beat sugar and butter until blended. Add eggs, 1 at a time, beating until blended after each egg.

3. Whisk together mashed sweet potatoes, milk, and vanilla extract. Combine flour and next 5 ingredients. Add flour mixture to sugar mixture alternately with sweet potato mixture. Beat at low speed just until blended after each addition. Fold in toasted pecans.

4.Place baking cups in muffin pans, and coat with vegetable cooking spray; spoon batter into cups, filling two-thirds full.

5. Bake at 350° for 28 to 30 minutes or until a  toothpick inserted into center comes out clean. Remove immediately from pans, and cool. Spread cupcakes evenly with Cream Cheese Frosting. Garnish with a roasted peacan.

Enjoy one, or two. Whatever. They are made with vegetables so they are guilt free.

Leave a Reply

