Caramel Apple Cake

I have a beautiful little 2 year old who loves to bake.  So much so that she will often go to her kitchen with a collection of goodies  she has scooped from my kitchen.  Sometimes  I go to the microwave and find that she  has put a collection of things there too (I am so grateful that  she  doesn’t know how to turn it on yet!). So when little Miss  asks to bake I do try to accommodate her.  It also helps when it’s my turn to  bring treats for my ladies group. Quite frankly any excuse to bake and I usually take  it.  I love to get in my kitchen and create.  This is what I  came up with.

I was on Pinterest the other day and saw this:

Now I am  betting  that it tastes even better than it looks but this is not the  kind  of thing that  I  have the time to throw  together  on the average day.   So I  decided to try something a little more low key.  Now   I will admit my cake  is a lot  less fancy looking  but it is huge on flavor.  Yumm-o!

Here’s my recipe:

Caramel Apple Cake

Preheat your oven to 350 degrees F. Grease a  9×13 inch pan and set aside.

Cake:

3 1/4 cups all purpose flour

1 3/4 cups packed brown sugar

1 teaspoon vanilla

1/2 teaspoon  salt

1 ½  teaspoons cinnamon

4 eggs

1/2 cup vegetable  oil

½ cup butter

1 teaspoon baking soda

3 cups finely chopped apples

Caramel Glaze:

1 1/2 cups  packed   brown sugar (I prefer light brown sugar because it adds to the caramel flavor)

1/3 cup  butter

1 teaspoon vanilla

½ cup  cream

1 cup  finely chopped pecans (optional, and very tasty)

Combine the flour, baking soda, cinnamon and salt in a medium bowl . In a large bowl, mix the oil, butter and sugar, add the eggs and  vanilla and beat well.Stir in the dry ingredients until just moistened. Add in the apples and stir until coated.

If you like smaller apple chunks  you can definitely  make yours smaller than I did,  you could actually  grate them up if you don’t like  bigger pieces.

Pour the  batter into prepared pan and bake for  about 50  minutes, or until a toothpick inserted in the center comes out clean.  With a skewer poke  holes  all over the  top of  the cake, the more the better.  This will allow the caramel to  soak into the  cake adding pockets of caramel goodness

Combine all the caramel glaze ingredients into a saucepan. Cook over  medium  heat, stirring constantly until the mixture thickens up, about 5 minutes, it  should come to a soft boil.  When  it  reaches this point  pour the caramel over the hot from  the oven cake.

I used a  pastry brush to  spread the caramel over the  top and to stop the glaze from  pooling around the sides.

One of the great things  about the  glaze is that when it sets it  leaves a  slightly crunchy texture on top.  It makes a  really nice contrast to the moist crumb of the cake and the soft apple pieces.

 

If you give this  a try I would love to hear what you think.  Thanks for stopping by!

2 thoughts on “Caramel Apple Cake

Leave a Reply

