Rice Krispie Lollipops

One of my favorite ways to spent my time is in the kitchen baking for my family. I love it. When I had my first daughter I knew that she was going to be my baking buddy, so whenever possible I try to include her in what I am doing in there.  She loves it.

We like to take goodies to school for holidays and celebrations, and because tomorrow is the last day of school she wanted to do something really special for the kids in her class.  This is what we came up with.

I had seen a picture of something similar to this in my online travels and decided it would be a fun project to try.

Here’s how we did it.

12 cups Rice Krispies
1/2 cup butter
1 tsp vanilla
600 grams Marshmallows (about 90)

Chocolate and vanilla melting wafers  (about 1 lb each)

Rainbow Sprinkles

 

Melt the butter in a large pot and add the marshmallows. when the marshmallows are melted stir in your vanilla. Add the rice krispies and stir until they are well coated. Pour the mixture into a greased 9×9 pan. Pack it in there really well. I actually built the squares so they were about an inch above the top of the pan.

Next you place your lollipop sticks in the squares. If you like perfection you can make a 9×9 grid on paper and mark where you would like the sticks to go then place the paper over the pan and insert them.  If you are me then you just eyeball it and end up with a mostly even result.

Press the rice krispie mixture very firmly down around the base of the lollipop sticks while they are still warm. The firmer the better because when the mixture cools you want those sticks to hold the square in place.

When the squares are cooled remove the whole 9×9 square and cut into pieces. I cut five rows of five from one pan.

For the decorations we used white and chocolate melting wafers and two different kinds of sprinkles. Melt the wafers in separate bowls. Place your sprinkles in bowls too.

Dip the lollipops one at a time in the chocolate (being sure to shake off the excess) and then into the sprinkles. Place on a sheet of wax paper until dry. Then wrap and enjoy.

Easy peasy.

I wanted to add a tag to the lollipops and I found these little owl tags which were perfect.

I have already thought of about 15 variations that I am going to try down the road but for now I’m done.  I hear my girls calling and I hate to disappoint them!

One thought on “Rice Krispie Lollipops

  1. I’m sooooo making these for allergy boy one day! (aside from the gluten in Rice Krispies… I will find something else!) Still, fun idea for kids!!!

Leave a comment